Skip to content

9/11 a Date Which Will Live in Infamy

September 10, 2011

September 11, 2001 – a date which will live in infamy – the United States of America was suddenly, cowardly and deliberately attacked by an Islamist militant group. Like other horrific acts against mankind by mankind, we ask why. My heart bleeds for a rational answer, when no rational answer can be found. It’s a sad epitaph of man when innocents are senselessly slaughtered in the name of absolute and dogmatic principles. Against this backdrop of irrationality and hatred, America stands proud and true, for our DNA is built upon “In God We Trust.”

These words, somewhat abridged, most eloquently spoken some 150 years ago by President Abraham Lincoln are as fitting and proper today to commemorate those who so needlessly died on 9/11 as they were then to dedicate the Soldiers’ National Cemetery at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

“We have come here to dedicate a portion of Ground Zero as a final resting place for those who here gave their lives in this cowardly and unprovoked attack against a nation under God with liberty and justice for all.

But in a larger sense we can not dedicate – we can not consecrate – we can not hallow this ground. The men and women, living and dead, who worked here and who were called upon in the line of duty, have consecrated it far above our poor power to add or detract. The world will long remember this day and shall never forget what they did here.

It is for us, the living, to take increased devotion to our country for which they here gave the last full measure of devotion – that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain; that this nation and that this government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.”

The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want.
He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:
He leadeth me beside the still waters.
He restoreth my soul:
He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’ sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil: For thou art with me;
Thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.
Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies;
Thou annointest my head with oil; My cup runneth over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the House of the Lord forever.

Amen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

