Skip to content

The Beatles said it best in “A Day In The Life” – Technology, Energy Security and Political Policy

July 22, 2010

Beatles’ Fans and others please forgive my poetic license; changed a few words here and there. Listen to the song then read my words given below.

Did you read the news today oh, boy
About NASA who may fade

No funds are there to move us from here
And though the news was rather sad
Well, I just had to laugh
I saw the photograph of Armstrong on the moon

He blew American’s mind out in awe

We have not been back for 37 years
We didn’t notice that our program had changed
Now a group of people stood and stared
We’d seen this all before

Nobody was really sure if we like Rome are doomed from this world

I saw a film today oh, boy
The American army had just lost another brawl
A crowd of people turned away
But I just had to look
Seeing young boys needless dead

Costly drones and war machines killing them ahead
To turn your oil on

Woke up, got out of bed
Took a pen and wrote till I bled
Found my way to an energy fair and took my notes
And looking up, I noticed we are late

Europeans, Asians, Chinese, Brazilians and Indians far ahead
Packed my laptop and grabbed my sack
Made the flight in seconds flat
Found my way to my lair and head US grants will appear
Somebody spoke and I wondered how the money will flow

Dreamt if our resolve may be lost from us all

I read the news today oh, boy
Four thousand Angles and VCs won’t back us all
And those funded were rather small
They had to kill most of them all
Now they know how many barrels it takes to fill us all   

I’d love to keep pipelines on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 7:05 AM

    Well done, Barry, appreciate this effort. As an old guy, (I have met the Beatles personally in Hamburg, Germany in 1962) I am still fond of their music. Together with this new lyrics the song is even upgraded. Something well done in the sense of the famous fab!

  2. barryonenergy permalink*
    July 26, 2010 7:38 AM

    Arno, many thanks for your supportive comments.

    America cannot get grips with climate control and its position in the global market. America has lost its political, economic, manufacturing and technical prowess. I feel it well beyond the “Beginning of the End.” At this time, all I can hope for is that America’s loss of its leadership position maybe better in the long run. Though I am extremely skeptical about it.

Leave a Reply

